Unsuccessful complaints about aid to sports clubs

Interne Prüfung durch Generaldirektion Wettbewerb wird erwartet.

Dear Competition (COMP),

Under the right of access to documents in the EU treaties, as developed in Regulation 1049/2001, I am requesting the following information:

1. Copies of all letters sent by your organisation to national authorities since 1 December 2012 confirming that having carried out a preliminary investigation into a complaint against aid to a sports club it has been concluded that the complaint does not merit a phase II investigation or it is regarded there is no state aid. I understand that confidential information may need to be obscured.

Yours faithfully,

Wim Piper
Address: Annan Villa, Gretna, DG16 5DY, Scotland

Generaldirektion Wettbewerb

Email sent on 17/11/2014

 

EUROPEAN COMMISSION
Competition DG

 

 

 

 

 

                                  Acknowledgement of receipt

Subject : GESTDEM 2014-5460 - PIPER - access to information request -
Unsuccessful complaints about aid to sports clubs, deadline 08/12/2014

 

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your  e-mail dated 15/11/2014. We hereby acknowledge receipt
of your application for access to documents, which was registered
on 17/11/2014 under reference number Gestdem 2014/5460.

In accordance with Regulation (EC) No 1049/2001 regarding public access to
European Parliament, Council and Commission documents, your application
will be handled within 15 working days. The time limit will expire on
08/12/2014. In case this time limit needs to be extended, you will be
informed in due course.

Yours faithfully,

 

Generaldirektion Wettbewerb

1 Attachment

Dear Mr Piper,

Thank you for your e-mail of 15 November 2014. With that e-mail, you asked
for "copies of all letters sent by your organisation to national
authorities since 1 December 2012 confirming that having carried out a
preliminary investigation into a complaint against aid to a sports club it
has been concluded that the complaint does not merit a phase II
investigation or it is regarded there is no state aid".

Please note that the documents you asked for are letters with relatively
standard content, as you can see from the template letter attached, which
does not go further than what you already mention in your request.
However, such letters also contain names of sports clubs, and we would
normally consider that disclosing the names of sports clubs would harm
their reputation. In this context, we understand that your request rather
concerns access to information. For this reason, please find below
information on the number of such letters we have sent since 1 December
2012 to each Member State:

United Kingdom: 5 letters

Germany: 1 letter

Spain: 1 letter

Italy: 1 letter

In the same vein, we would kindly ask you to clarify whether you would
maintain your initial request for copies of letters, as expressed in your
e-mail of 15 November 2014. Please note that, until we receive your reply,
the deadline for the reply to the request included in your e-mail of 15
November 2014 is stopped.

 

Thank you.

 

Kind regards

Dimitrios PIKIOS
Case handler
European Commission
DG Competition - Unit C4
State Aid – Information, Communication, Sport and Media
(   +32 2 299 25 26
Ê   +32 2 296 98 16
*  [email address]

DISCLAIMER

“The views expressed are purely those of the writer and may not in any
circumstances be regarded as stating an official position of the European
Commission."

 

Wim Piper hat eine Nachricht hinterlassen ()

Dimitrios,

Thank you for the response to my enquiry. Personally, I think a Commission "all clear" on state aid enhances the reputation of a professional football club, especially in light of the speculation in internet forums and in the national media, which names specific clubs. For this reason I would hope you would release the copies of the formal letters showing which football clubs have been cleared after initial investigation by the Commission. This data is also useful for the interested parties who then know not to complain about matters which have already been investigated and no issue has been found.

Thanks

Wim

Dear Competition (COMP),

Please pass this on to the person who conducts Freedom of Information reviews.

I am writing to request an internal review of Competition (COMP)'s handling of my FOI request 'Unsuccessful complaints about aid to sports clubs'.

I responded to the request for more information but nothing has happened since. I am asking for a review to get the information originally requested.

A full history of my FOI request and all correspondence is available on the Internet at this address: http://www.asktheeu.org/en/request/unsuc...

Yours faithfully,

Wim Piper

Generaldirektion Wettbewerb

1 Attachment

Sir,

Thank you for your email.

 

We are still waiting for your response to the clarifications requested in
our message of 8 December (our reference 2014/124935) which should be sent
to the e-mail addresses of the Commission mentioned in our message and
until such receipt, the processing of the request is suspended, as
mentioned in our message.

 

Best regards.

 

[1]cid:image001.png@01CDA13B.FB7873D0

Access to Documents

European Commission
DG Competition

 

 

 

Zitate anzeigen

Wim Piper hat eine Nachricht hinterlassen ()

Clarification in the annotation, but I will send email

Wim Piper hat eine Nachricht hinterlassen ()

NO EMAIL ADDRESS PROVIDED

I have sought to email the Commission but haven't been able to. No email address is listed in the message and
Dimitrios PIKIOS isn't listed in the EC directory. How do I get my info?